COMMITTEE OF CHAIRS OF ACADEMIC BOARDS/SENATES OF UNIVERSITIES IN NSW AND THE ACT

MEETING (06/2)

15 JUNE 2006

Item 8 Election of Chair

The term of the current Chair runs from 1 August 2004 until 31 July 2006 (resolution 04/1). According to the Committee's Standing Orders:

5.2 Election of Chair

When a new Chair is required, the Committee shall elect one of its members by a "first past the post" method.

Nominations were called by email on 1 June with a closing date of 9 June for a Chair for the period 1 August 2006 to 31 July 2008, subject to the elected Chair remaining a member for that period.

At the close of nominations, one nomination had been received as follows:

Tony Baker Nominated by David Griffiths and Linda Connor.

RECOMMENDATION:

that the Committee of Chairs elects Professor Anthony Baker to the position of Chair of the Committee of Chairs of Academic Boards/Senates of Universities in NSW and the ACT for the period from 1 August 2006 to 31 July 2008, subject to the Chair remaining a member of the Committee.