University of Technology SydneyUTS:UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Roles and contact
Committees of Academic Board
Academic Administration Committee
Appeals Committee (Non-disclosure)
Connected Intelligence Centre Board of Studies
Courses Accreditation Committee
Executive Committee
Graduate Research School Board
Graduate Research Students' Appeals Committee
Graduate School of Health Board of Studies
Indigenous Education Board of Studies
Institute for Sustainable Futures Board of Studies
Professional Experience Appeals Committee
Research and Research Training Committee
Teaching and Learning Committee
Responsible Academic Officers
Committee of Chairs
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections website
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies website
•  University Records website
Research and Research Training Committee

A committee of Academic Board

Deals with matters pertaining to the future strategic planning and policy directions for research and research training as well as the development of the University's research culture and research profile.

Meeting dates 2017

Monday 13 February (Planning meeting)
Tuesday 14 March
Tuesday 2 May
Tuesday 27 June
Tuesday 22 August
Tuesday 3 October
Tuesday 7 November

Time: 9.30am to 11.30am
Location: Chancellery, room 4B, level 4, Building 1, Broadway (CB01.04B.18)

Committee contact

Lucille Paterson
Senior Governance Support Officer
Tel: 02 9514 1226

Composition and membership

Composition Membership
Chair (elected by and from Academic Board) Professor Charles Rice
Deputy Chair (nominated from Committee membership) Professor Fiona Brooks
Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Research) or nominee Professor Glenn Wightwick
Dean, Graduate Research School or nominee Professor Lori Lockyer
Director, Institute of Sustainable Futures or nominee Professor Damien Giurco (nominee)
Director, Research and Innovation Office or nominee Professor David Robson
University Librarian, or nominee Sally Scholfield (nominee)
One nominee from each Faculty (normally Associate Dean (Research)) nominated by the Dean of the Faculty Professor Alan McKee, Arts and Social Sciences

Professor Jenny Edwards, Business

To be advised, Design, Architecture and Building

Professor Jie Lu, Engineering and Information Technology

Professor Fiona Brooks, Health

Professor Brian Opeskin, Law

Associate Professor Michael Ford, Science
Three Directors of UTS Research Strengths (as set out in the Research Strengths Statement), not necessarily members of Academic Board, nominated by the Deans of the University Faculties* Professor Dikai Liu

Peter Ralph

Professor Liz Harry
Two early career researchers from academic staff (whose PhD or equivalent doctorate has been awarded within the past five years), not necessarily members of Academic Board, elected by the members of Academic Board Alison Pearce

Dr Jonathon Lee Wardle
Two research degree students, elected by and from research degree students of the University Brendan Main

Daren Maynard
Co-opted members on the basis of their skills and experience as appropriate Professor Elizabeth Sullivan

Professor Larissa Behrendt

Professor Rosalie Viney

Professor Greg Skilbeck

Professor Mary Bebawy

On the recommendation of the Chair, the Committee has the power to approve the co-option of members on the basis of their skills and experience as appropriate.

* For the three Directors of UTS Research Strengths, if more nominations than positions available are received, successful candidates would be determined by lot drawn by the Returning Officer or nominee. If fewer nominations than positions available are received, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) would be requested to appoint candidates to the remaining positions.

Membership term

The length of Committee membership terms will be two years for staff and one year for students, consistent with the term of membership for elected members of Academic Board.

Terms of reference

  • To make recommendations to Academic Board on future strategic planning and policy directions for research, research training and intellectual property as it relates to the University's research activities
  • to provide advice to Academic Board on the development of the University's research culture, communication and research profile
  • to review regularly the University's research, research training and intellectual property policies (as they relate to the University's research activities) and recommend any necessary amendments to Academic Board
  • to monitor the operation of the University's research strengths governance instruments and provide recommendations on research strengths, performance and direction, and
  • to approve the guidelines, including the selection process, for key University internal research funding schemes.


The quorum shall be oneā€“half of the current members of the Committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the Committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.

Number of meetings

Minimum of six scheduled meetings per year.