University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Roles and contact
Committees of Academic Board
Admissions Non-disclosure Appeals Committee
Connected Intelligence Centre Board of Studies
Courses Accreditation Committee
Executive Committee
Graduate Research School Board
Graduate Research Students' Appeals Committee
Graduate School of Health Board of Studies
Institute for Sustainable Futures Board of Studies
Professional Experience Appeals Committee
Research Committee
Teaching and Learning Committee
Academic Board Review
Responsible Academic Officers
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections website
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies website
•  University Records website
Teaching and Learning Committee

A committee of Academic Board

The Teaching and Learning Committee is a university-wide advisory and consultative committee, established by Academic Board. It deals with matters pertaining to the strategic planning, policy directions, quality, standard and integrity for teaching and learning in coursework programs as well as the development of the university’s teaching and learning culture and profile.

2019 meeting dates

Monday 11 February
Tuesday 12 March
Monday 6 May
Monday 24 June
Monday 12 August
Monday 23 September
Monday 28 October

Time: 10am to 12pm, except Monday 23 September, which is 2pm to 4pm
Location: room 60, level 21, building 1 (CB01.21.60), except Tuesday 12 March, which is Dean’s Boardroom, level 7, building 7 (CB07.07.006).

Committee contact

Elbreg Zwaan
Senior Governance Support Officer
Tel: 02 9514 9811

Composition and membership

Composition Membership
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education and Students) as Chair Professor Shirley Alexander
Deputy Chair (Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) or equivalent nominated from committee membership) Professor Maryanne Dever
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education) Professor Peter Scott
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement), or nominee Vacant
Director, Institute for Interactive Media and Learning Jan McLean (acting)
Director, Planning and Quality Unit Martin Hanlon
Director, UTS International, or nominee Mychel Palamountain (nominee)
Director, Student Administration, or nominee Jacqui Wise
University Librarian, or nominee Michael Gonzalez
One Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) or equivalent from each faculty and the Graduate School of Health, nominated by the respective Deans Professor Maryanne Dever, Arts and Social Sciences

Professor Sara Denize, Business

Associate Professor Vince Mangioni, Design, Architecture and Building

Associate Professor Rob Jarman, Engineering and Information Technology

Dr Lynn Sinclair, Health

Maxine Evers, Law

Associate Professor Peter Meier, Science

Associate Professor Alison Beavis, Transdisciplinary Innovation

Professor Kylie Williams, Graduate School of Health
Three members of academic staff (not necessarily members of Academic Board) elected by Academic Board Professor Penny Allan

Jenna Price

Dr Amanda White
One undergraduate student elected by and from the undergraduate students of the university Lachlan MacLeod
One graduate coursework student elected by and from the graduate coursework students of the university Aaron Ngan

On the recommendation of the chair, the committee has the power to approve the co-option of members on the basis of their skills and faculty representation.

Terms of reference

The committee provides academic oversight for teaching and learning at UTS. The committee has responsibility for considering the following matters and making recommendations to Academic Board or the applicable decision-making authority, as specified in the UTS Rules, Delegations and policies:

  1. teaching and learning policies and guidelines, including developing, benchmarking, monitoring and reviewing teaching and learning policies and their effectiveness and monitoring the operation of the university’s teaching and learning governance instruments;
  2. teaching and learning strategy, including making recommendations on strategic priorities for teaching and learning; and monitoring and reporting on the achievement of strategic objectives against agreed targets;
  3. teaching and learning quality and performance, including:
    1. providing advice on the development of the university’s teaching and learning culture, communication and profile;
    2. enhancing and improving student experience, and encouraging excellence in teaching and learning through innovation and improvement, taking into account national and international benchmarks, use of emerging technologies and new approaches to teaching and learning;
    3. incorporating and receiving reports from a Curriculum and Cohort Review Advisory Group (CCRAG) for developing, overseeing, monitoring and reviewing the qualitative, and quantitative measures of evaluating performance and quality assurance in teaching and learning, and recommending actions to improve performance in, and quality of teaching and learning;
  4. teaching and learning integrity, including promoting, preserving and upholding academic integrity by providing advice on the supporting UTS governance instruments;
  5. academic staff development, including monitoring and reviewing academic staff development initiatives and their effectiveness; and
  6. teaching and learning risk management, assessing and monitoring risks to the teaching and learning activities, and reporting on these risks.

Membership term

The length of committee membership terms will be two years for staff and one year for students, consistent with the term of membership for elected members of Academic Board, including for co-opted members.

Number of meetings

Minimum of six scheduled meetings per year.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.