University of Technology, Sydney

Staff directory | Campus maps | Newsroom | What's on

Schedule: Courses Accreditation Committee — election of students

This is the schedule for the election to fill positions for coursework students on the Courses Accreditation Committee.

The schedule specifies the term of office, electorate, dates for nominations and ballot, Returning Officer and election rules. It also includes the nomination form that should be used to nominate as a candidate in this election, and information about Courses Accreditation Committee.

For the election of

Coursework students two positions

Term of office

One year: 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2018


Persons enrolled in courses that are listed in the register of undergraduate or postgraduate coursework award courses of the University (minimum duration: one year full-time or equivalent) can stand as a candidate, nominate candidates and vote for coursework student positions (UTS General Rules, Rule G3-24(1)(h)).


Undergraduate students, postgraduate students and postgraduate research students who are also members of academic or professional staff of the University (either continuing or fixed term) are not entitled to stand as candidates, nominate candidates or vote in this election (Rule G3-24(2)).


  • Open Thursday 24 August 2017
  • Close Thursday 7 September 2017 at 3pm

Nomination form

To nominate a candidate in this election, use the nomination form: Courses Accreditation Committee — election of students (200kb PDF).

NOTE: The ongoing Review of Academic Board Governance Structure and Composition may affect these elections. Possible impacts may include the position(s) being cancelled, changing the membership term, etc. If you stand as a candidate in this election, the Governance Support Unit will keep you informed about any changes as they occur.


If more valid nominations are received than positions vacant, a ballot is required. Ballots will take place in the UTS: Elections Online Polling Booth.

  • Open Tuesday 26 September 2017
  • Close Tuesday 10 October 2017 at 3pm

The names of candidates and candidate statements will be made available in voting before ballots open.

Returning Officer

University Secretary, William Paterson

Election rules

Academic Board Committees (Rule G3, Part 1, Division 5)

Elections (Rule G3, Part 3)


Participants in elections (candidates, their representatives and voters) are expected to follow the same high standard of conduct and behaviour during the campaign process as is expected on campus generally. The behaviour of election candidates and their representatives should meet expected standards of conduct. See Code of Conduct for UTS Elections.

Concerns about security due to election-related conduct should be reported to UTS Security. Phone +61 2 9514 1192, or dial ‘6’ on any UTS phone.


The results of these elections will be made available in results around two weeks after close of voting, following the declaration of poll by the Returning Officer (Rule G3-38(3) and (4)).

About Courses Accreditation Committee

Number of meetings The Courses Accreditation Committee meets at least eight times per year.
Terms of reference The Courses Accreditation Committee makes recommendations to Academic Board on the accreditation of proposed or existing coursework award courses and pan-university subjects, the discontinuation of accreditation and related policy and practice. It is also responsible for advising Academic Board on admission standards and, as necessary, the recognition and policy related to foundation programs and articulation arrangements.

The Courses Accreditation Committee currently consists of 15 members, including ex officio members, nominated members, three elected academic staff members and two elected students. See the Academic Board Review note for possible impacts to this composition.

For further information, see composition and membership.
Membership term Membership terms on Courses Accreditation Committee will be two years for staff and one year for students.
Further information

See Courses Accreditation Committee

Electoral Officer
Email Electoral Officer
Telephone +61 (02) 9514 1235

Committee Officer
Email Xanthi Alabasinis
Telephone + 61 (02) 9514 9918